Governor extends mask mandate to all but 4 counties

Governor extends mask mandate to all but 4 counties
Mississippi Gov. Tate Reeves responds to questions regarding the holiday social receptions his office planned at the Governor's Mansion, during his covid news briefing, Wednesday, Dec. 9, 2020 in Jackson, Miss. (AP Photo/Rogelio V. Solis) (Source: Rogelio V. Solis)

JACKSON, Miss. (WLBT) - Seventy-eight of Mississippi’s 82 counties are now under a mask mandate, as of Governor Tate Reeves’ newest updated executive order.

Reeves added additional counties to the mask mandate, which now includes all but four counties: Claiborne, Issaquena, Sharkey and Tunica.

The executive order will be in place until Friday, January 15.

“We all need to be extra aware. You know what to do! Protect yourself and your family. Stay safe, and Merry Christmas,” Reeves added.

The order also limits indoor and outdoor gatherings.

It comes as Mississippi tallied a record-high total of recorded deaths on Tuesday with 79.

Copyright 2020 WLBT. All rights reserved.