Roster revealed for 2018 SWAC Football Media Day

Roster revealed for 2018 SWAC Football Media Day
Source: WLBT archives

Press Release from the Southwestern Athletic Conference

The Southwestern Athletic Conference's Football Media Day list of student-athletes has been confirmed for those who will be accompanying their head coach at the annual event to answer media inquiries for the upcoming season.

The event is set for Friday, July 13 at the recently refurbished Birmingham-Marriott Hotel in Birmingham, Ala.

SWAC Digital Network commentator Santoria Black will moderate the live coverage in the grand ballroom and will be interviewing head coaches on set.   SDN analyst/personality Gaati Werema will be interviewing student-athletes. The event can be seen on the SWAC's official web site, which will get underway at 10 a.m. CT live on the SWAC Digital Network.

Media members may apply for credentials through this link:

Credentials may be picked up the day of the event at the entrance of the grand ballroom.  Requests will be accepted through Noon on Friday, July 6. There are no guarantees that you will be able to receive a credential after this date.  Media outlets and SIDS applying for credentials must fill out the application and include staff that apply. In addition, the individual applying for the entire group must list themselves as attendee too.

The list of head coaches and student-athletes participating in #SWACMD18 include:

Alcorn State

P.J. Simmons, senior running back

Brady Smith, redshirt senior defensive back

Fred McNair, head coach

Jackson State

Romello Shumake, senior wide receiver

Eric Bowie, senior linebacker

Tony Hughes, head coach

Mississippi Valley State

Patrick Harbin, senior linebacker

Jett Even, senior quarterback

Vincent Dancy, head coach

Alabama State

Tytus Howard, senior offensive lineman

Devin Santana, senior defensive lineman

Donald Hill-Eley, head coach


Demerio Houston, senior defensive back

Dennis Craig, redshirt senior tight end

Dawson Odums, head coach

Grambling State

Percy Cargo, senior defensive back

De'Arius Christmas, senior linebacker

Broderick Fobbs, head coach

Arkansas-Pine Bluff

KeShawn Williams, senior running back

Jalen Steward, junior defensive end

Cedric Thomas, head coach

Alabama A&M

Dylan Hamilton-senior safety

Jordan Bentley-junior-running back

Connell Maynor, head coach

Texas Southern

Julian Marcantel, junior linebacker

Brad Woodard, senior running back

Michael Haywood, head coach

Prairie View A&M

Dawonya Tucker, junior running back

Anthony Stubbs, senior linebacker

Eric Dooley, head coach

Copyright 2018 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.