6 Pine Belt-area students earn NASA-Mississippi Space Grant scholarships

Six Pine Belt-area students at the University of Southern Mississippi were awarded scholarships...
Six Pine Belt-area students at the University of Southern Mississippi were awarded scholarships sponsored by NASA.(MGN)
Published: Jul. 12, 2023 at 3:56 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

From University of Southern Mississippi Office of University Communications

HATTIESBURG, Miss. (WDAM) - Six University of Southern Mississippi students from the Pine Belt area were awarded scholarships sponsored by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and promoting STEM disciplines .

The sextet were among 25 USM students awarded scholarships through the state-wide NASA-Mississippi Space Grant Consortium program.

Scholarships ranged from $200 to $1,000.

The 2023-2024 NASA-Mississippi Space Grant scholarship recipients from the Pine Belt-area included:

  • A’Lea Rogers, forensics (chemistry/biochemistry), Buckatunna
  • Alkendria McNair, information technology, Collins
  • Joseph Larry Byrd, polymer science & engineering, Hattiesburg
  • David Enrique Garcia, polymer science & engineering, Hattiesburg
  • Amari Harmon, polymer science & engineering, Poplarville
  • Ranni Leigh Middleton, polymer science & engineering, Raleigh.

The program was created to support students, especially those devoted to science, technology, engineering or mathematics.

The program also was designed to encourage and motivate student performance and to raise awareness of NASA employment and research opportunities.

David Cochran, who coordinates the consortium on campus, said a program that not only provides student funding but the opportunity to gain experience with NASA is a boon for USM.

“It is gratifying to be part of a statewide initiative that provides much-needed funding to students and promotes participation across the University in some of the many opportunities available through NASA,” said Cochran, Research and Graduate Education associate dean in the College of Arts and Science

Want more WDAM 7 news in your inbox? Click here to subscribe to our newsletter.