ELECTION RESULTS: Here are the latest results

Published: Jun. 8, 2021 at 8:20 PM CDT|Updated: Jun. 8, 2021 at 10:33 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

JACKSON, Miss. (WLBT) - Tuesday night is Election Night in Mississippi for many municipal races.

Mayor Chokwe Antar Lumumba won re-election as mayor of Jackson by wide margins, securing another 4-year term. Kenneth Stokes, Aaron Banks and Virgi Lindsay also kept their spots on the Jackson City Council.

Butch Lee of Brandon secured another term as mayor of Brandon.

“Thank you all, each and every one of you, who participated in this process,” Lee wrote on social media. “It has been work that brought us each to this point in time, and it will be dedicated work which carries us forward.”

In one of Tuesday’s election day surprises, Ryshonda Harper Beechem lost her re-election big as the mayor of Pelahatchie to Karl VanHorn. Beechem had found herself embroiled in several controversies in the small town, often butting heads with Pelahatchie’s Board of Supervisors.

“The last four years serving as the Mayor of Pelahatchie has been HELL for my family and myself,” she posted on Facebook Tuesday evening. “[...] I will never forget. I want to congratulate ALL. NO JUSTICE.”

Click here to read the latest results as they continue to come in.

Copyright 2021 WLBT. All rights reserved.