Southern Miss Picked to Win 2019 C-USA Baseball Title as Four Players Named to Preseason Team

Matt Wallner Named Preseason Player of the Year

Southern Miss Picked to Win 2019 C-USA Baseball Title as Four Players Named to Preseason Team

IRVING, TX (WLBT) - Conference USA has announced its 2019 preseason baseball awards, as chosen by the league’s 12 head coaches. Southern Miss junior outfielder/pitcher Matt Wallner has been chosen as the preseason Player of the Year for the second straight season, while Rice junior right-hander Matt Canterino was named the preseason Pitcher of the Year. Southern Miss was chosen as the favorite to win the league’s championship. The Golden Eagles won the C-USA regular season and tournament titles last season.

Wallner, the 2017 National Freshman of the Year by most national media organizations, finished last spring with a .351 batting average with 13 doubles, to go along with team highs of 16 home runs and 67 RBI. He walked 48 times to have an on-base percentage of .474, while his slugging was at .618. The Golden Eagle outfielder also blasted a team-best three grand slams during the year. Wallner also made 12 appearances on the mound, picking up six saves.

Wallner earned All-American honors by multiple organizations following the 2018 spring campaign, including a second-team accolade by the NCBWA (National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association) in the outfield and was a third-team selection at designated hitter by as well as a third-team pick by the ABCA (American Baseball Coaches Association).

Joining Wallner on the preseason All-Conference team are three Southern Miss teammates including senior first baseman Hunter Slater (.309, 30 BB, 12 HR, 55 RBI), senior right-handed pitcher Walker Powell (7-3, 3.80 ERA, 83.0 IP, 62 K, 14 BB) and senior left-handed pitcher Stevie Powers (5-2, 4.07 ERA, 73.0 IP, 73K, 13 BB). The Golden Eagles four preseason All-Conference choices are the most of any school.

The 2019 Conference USA baseball season begins Friday, February 15.


(as selected by C-USA’s head coaches)


1. Southern Miss (8)

2. Louisiana Tech (2)

3. Florida Atlantic (1)

4. Rice (1)

5. FIU

6. Charlotte


8. UAB

9. Old Dominion

10. WKU

11. Marshall

12. Middle Tennessee

(first place votes in parentheses)


Matt Wallner, Southern Miss (Junior, OF/P)


Matt Canterino, Rice (Junior, RHP)


SP Logan Bailey Sr. Louisiana Tech

SP Matt Canterino Jr. Rice

SP Walker Powell Jr. Southern Miss

SP Stevie Powers Sr. Southern Miss

RP Zach Schneider Sr. Florida Atlantic

C Rey Pastrana Sr. Marshall

IF Bryan Arias Sr. UTSA

IF Hunter Slater Sr. Southern Miss

IF Austin Shenton Jr. FIU

IF Hunter Wells Jr. Louisiana Tech

OF Parker Bates Jr. Louisiana Tech

OF Blake Benefield Sr. Middle Tennessee

OF Matt Wallner Jr. Southern Miss

DH/UT Logan Allen So. FIU

Copyright 2019 WLBT. All rights reserved.