Saints tie NFC lead with 5 Pro Bowl selections

Former Bulldogs Cox, Slay, & McKinney earn Pro Bowl nods

Saints tie NFC lead with 5 Pro Bowl selections
Drew Brees leaps over the line for a touchdown.

JACKSON, MS (WLBT) - The Saints boast five Pro Bowl selections, tied for tops among NFC teams. They just hope none of them play in the Pro Bowl.

Drew Brees has been voted the starting quarterback for the NFC, earning his 12th Pro Bowl selection and 11th as a Saint. Wide receiver Michael Thomas, offensive tackle Terron Armstead, and defensive end Cameron Jordan were also voted starters, while center Max Unger was voted as a reserve.

Three former Mississippi State Bulldogs were also voted into the Pro Bowl, headlined by Philadelphia Eagles defensive tackle Fletcher Cox. The Yazoo City native has been voted to each of the last four Pro Bowls.

Former Bulldogs Darius Slay and Benardrick McKinney were also named Pro Bowlers. Slay, a cornerback for the Detroit Lions, is a Pro Bowl selection for a second consecutive year. McKinney, a linebacker for the Houston Texans, will be making his first ever Pro Bowl appearance.

The 2019 Pro Bowl is Sunday, January 27 in Orlando, Florida. Selections were made based on voting by fans, players, and coaches. Pro Bowl selections whose team reaches the Super Bowl will not play in the Pro Bowl and will be replaced by alternates.

Copyright 2018 WLBT. All rights reserved.