Buckley, Dickinson, McNair, & Willis among Mississippi connectio - WLBT.com - Jackson, MS

Buckley, Dickinson, McNair, & Willis among Mississippi connections on 2019 College Football HOF ballot

Source: Ole Miss Sports Source: Ole Miss Sports
Source: WLBT Source: WLBT

Several players with Magnolia State connections are on the radar for the College Football Hall of Fame. The National Football Foundation announced the 2019 ballot Monday morning.

Alcorn State great Steve McNair is on the ballot for the first time. McNair is the all-time passing leader in FCS history with 14,496 yards. He was a 1994 All-America First-Team honoree and finished third in the Heisman Trophy voting.

Ole Miss linebacker Patrick Willis is on the ballot for the 2nd straight year. He was a consensus first team All-American in 2006. Willis was the two-time SEC Defensive Player of the Year.

Mississippi State assistant coach Terrell Buckley is on the ballot for the 4th straight year. He was a first-team All-American in 1991 for Florida State.

Parnell Dickinson is one of four Mississippi Valley standouts on the HOF radar. Paydirtwas enshrined in the Black College Football Hall of Fame in 2017. He was the 1975 SWAC Player of the Year and a First Team All-American. Dickinson finished his Valley career as the SWAC All-Time leader in total offense.

The full list of notables include

FBS Player Nominees

Terrell Buckley, Florida State-Defensive Back-1991 unanimous First Team All-American and winner of the Thorpe Award…Led the nation in interceptions (12) and return yards (501) during final season at FSU…Seminoles’ all-time leader in career interceptions (21) who returned four interceptions and three punts for touchdowns in career.

Patrick Willis, Ole Miss-Linebacker-2006 consensus First Team All-American and recipient of the 2006 Butkus Award, who led the nation in solo tackles (90) as a junior…2006 SEC Defensive Player of the Year and two-time First Team All-SEC selection, twice leading the league in tackles…Finished career ranked sixth all-time at Ole Miss with 355 career tackles.

FBS Coach Nominees

Billy Jack Murphy-Memphis (1958-71)-Winningest coach in Memphis history, including an unbeaten season in 1963…Named National Coach of the Year in 1963 by the Detroit News and Missouri Valley Conference Coach of the Year three-of-four seasons from 1968-71…Took Memphis to its first-ever bowl game and is a member of the Tennessee, Mississippi State, and Memphis halls of fame.

Divisional Player Nominees

Ashley Ambrose, Mississippi Valley State-Defensive Back-1991 First Team All-American and First Team All-SWAC selection…Named SWAC Defensive Back and Return Specialist of the Year in 1991…Led nation in punt returns during senior campaign.

Vincent Brown, Mississippi Valley State-Linebacker-1987 First Team All-American, leading the NCAA in tackles in 1986 and 1987…Set NCAA All-Divisions record with 570 career tackles…Two-time All-SWAC selection who led MVSU in tackles his last three seasons.

Parnell Dickinson, Mississippi Valley State-Quarterback-1975 First Team All-American and Pittsburgh Courier National Player of the Year…Four-time All-SWAC selection and conference Player of the Year as a senior…Finished career as SWAC’s all-time leader in total offense (7,442 yards).

Bob Gaddis, Mississippi Valley State-Wide Receiver-1974 First Team All-American and Pittsburgh Courier National Receiver of the Year…Named 1970 NAIA Freshman of the Year en route to twice leading the NAIA in yards per catch (1971-72)…Three-time All-SWAC selection led conference in yards per catch all four years.

Steve McNair, Alcorn State-Quarterback-1994 First Team All-American and the all-time passing leader (14,496) in the FCS…Finished third in 1994 Heisman Trophy voting and the only four-time SWAC Offensive Player of the Year in league history…1994 Walter Payton Award winner who led Braves to two SWAC titles and two NCAA playoff appearances.

The announcement of the 2019 Class will be made Monday, January 7th, 2019.

Copyright 2018 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Frankly