Five candidates running for open seat in Mississippi House - - Jackson, MS

Five candidates running for open seat in Mississippi House

Source: Raycom Image Bank Source: Raycom Image Bank

Five candidates are running for an open seat in the Mississippi House in a district that's just south of Jackson.

The winner will serve until January 2020, completing a four-year term started by Republican Andy Gipson of Braxton.

Gov. Phil Bryant appointed Gipson to be state agriculture commissioner after Bryant chose previous commissioner, Cindy Hyde-Smith, to temporarily succeed fellow Republican Thad Cochran in the U.S. Senate.

The special election in House District 77 will be held July 10 in parts of Rankin and Simpson counties

The candidates who qualified before a filing deadline this week are Cliff Brown, Hayes Patrick, Christopher R. "Chris" Purdum, Cemper Scott and Price Wallace.

Special election ballots do not list party labels.

Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly