Southern Miss pitcher Nick Sandlin wins 2018 Ferriss Trophy - - Jackson, MS

Southern Miss pitcher Nick Sandlin wins 2018 Ferriss Trophy

Source: WLBT Source: WLBT
WLBT archives WLBT archives

The highest honor in Mississippi college baseball was handed out Monday. Southern Miss pitcher Nick Sandlin won the 2018 Ferriss Trophy.

Sandlin has shined in his first full season as a Golden Eagle starter. The Georgia native has gone from shutdown closer to shutdown ace. Sandlin is 8-0 with a 1.25 ERA this season. He also tossed back to back complete game shutouts earlier in May. Sandlin is the third Golden Eagle to win the Ferriss all-time (2011 Tyler Koelling, 2015 James McMahon).

"Definitely means a lot," Sandlin said. "Learning a lot about Boo Ferriss the last couple years since I've moved from the state of Mississippi, being from Georgia. It's a great honor with him being a great pitcher that he was. Might have been the toughest decision they've had to make. So I know some other people had some great years, I'm just happy to be here and obviously great to win it."

The other 2018 finalists were Jake Mangum (MSU), Ryan Olenek (Ole Miss), Luke Reynolds (Southern Miss), and Zack Shannon (Delta State).

Copyright 2018 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly