Fred Ross and Brandon Holloway selected to watch lists - - Jackson, MS

Fred Ross and Brandon Holloway selected to watch lists


A pair of Mississippi State seniors picked up preseason honors Wednesday as wide receiver Fred Ross was named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, while running back Brandon Holloway was named to the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List and named an Allstate AFCA Good Works Team nominee.

After closing 2015 by surpassing 1,000-receiving yards, Mississippi State senior wide receiver Fred Ross is entering 2016 by being named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, which annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football.

A first-team All-Southeastern Conference receiver as selected by the league’s coaches in 2015, Ross became just the second 1,000-yard receiver in school history. As a junior in 2015, the Tyler, Texas native led the SEC in receptions per game (6.8) and his 70 catches in conference games led the SEC and were the second-most nationally. Ross also ranked fourth in the league in receiving yards (1,007), while his 88 catches registered seventh in SEC single-season annals.

A versatile wide out who can line up in the slot or at split end, Ross was also named second team All-SEC by the Associated Press in 2015 and has been named second team Preseason All-SEC by Athlon Sports entering 2016.

The Biletnikoff Award, in its 23rd year, recognizes college football's outstanding receiver of the season at any position by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., (TQC). It is not a career award. Any player who catches a pass, regardless of position, is eligible for the award. The TQC Foundation, Inc., is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994.

The 2016 Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced live by 1991 Heisman Trophy winner and former receiver Desmond Howard on December 8, 2016, on ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards show, at 7 pm (EST), at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia. Desmond Howard is one of only 5 ends or receivers who has won the Heisman Trophy, joining Larry Kelley, Leon Hart, Johnny Rodgers, and Tim Brown.

Holloway is coming off a junior season in which he showed his triple-threat abilities on offense and special teams as he and Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey are the only two FBS players to return in 2016 who registered at least 400 rushing yards, 300 receiving yards and 500 kickoff return yards a season ago.

A native of Tampa, Florida, Holloway became the starting running back midway through the 2015 season and started the final eight games of the year. Holloway also accounted for seven touchdowns – five receiving, one rushing and one kick return.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach Florida.  Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and the AFCA, each player must be actively involved with a charitable organization or service group while maintaining a strong academic standing.

2016 Mississippi State Preseason Honors

Richie Brown, LB

Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Butkus Award Watch List

All-SEC – Athlon Sports (Third Team)

Brandon Bryant, DB

All-SEC – Athlon Sports (Fourth Team)

Jamaal Clayborn, OL

All-SEC – Athlon Sports (Fourth Team)

Brandon Holloway, RB

Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Nominee

All-SEC – Athlon Sports (Third Team)

A.J. Jefferson, DL

All-SEC – Athlon Sports (Fourth Team)

Fred Ross, WR

Biletnikoff Award Watch List

All-SEC – Athlon Sports (Second Team)

Copyright 2016 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly