Who will be on MDOC Task Force? - WLBT.com - Jackson, MS

Who will be on MDOC Task Force?

JACKSON, MS (WLBT) - A former attorney general has been appointed to a five-member task force that will review contracts awarded by the Mississippi Department of Corrections.

Gov. Phil Bryant formed the group after former Corrections Commissioner Chris Epps and businessman Cecil McCrory were indicted in a bribery scheme that allegedly provided Epps with luxury vehicles, an upscale home and a beachside condominium. McCrory's company was awarded a no-bid contract in 2007.

Bryant on Friday announced the final three members of the task force that will start meeting in December: former Attorney General Mike Moore; former Assistant Secretary of State Constance Slaughter-Harvey, who's also an attorney; and former state Rep. Bill Crawford.

Bryant announced he was creating the task force Nov. 7, with former Circuit Judge Robert Gibbs and attorney Andy Taggart as co-chairmen.

Copyright 2014 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.
Powered by Frankly