State-wide elected officials sworn in - - Jackson, MS

State-wide elected officials sworn in


Seven statewide elected officials took the oath of office Thursday afternoon. The state capitol was filled with well wishers, family and friends for the ceremony. The atmosphere in the House chamber was cordial on both sides of the aisle.

The swearing- in ceremony included two newly elected women, and the lone democrat. The state house chamber was packed Thursday for the swearing in of Tate Reeves as Lieutenant Governor, Jim Hood as Attorney General, Delbert Hosemann as Secretary of State, Lynn Fitch as Treasurer, Stacey Pickering as Auditor, Cindy Hyde-Smith as Agriculture Commissioner and Mike Chaney as Insurance Commissioner. Hood is starting his third term. The others are republicans. Reeves, Fitch and Hyde-Smith are new to their jobs. Hosemann, Pickering and Chaney are beginning second terms. LT. Governor-elect, Tate Reeves was the last to raise his right hand and take the oath of office with his family by his side.

Reeves issued challenges on job development, better pay and education for Mississippians. Afterward the Lt. Governor spoke with reporters about the next step in his administration. "We have a number of things that we have to work on. Legislative redistricting will be a priority for us obviously because it didn't get done in the 2011 session. The budget as it is every year, we are in a difficult budget situation this year as the Governor talked about yesterday. We have a situation which revenues are growing but very slowly. A large amount of federal dollars are going out of the budget from the Obama stimulus package. So we have to find ways to become more efficient in government."

The new Lt. Governor also said everyone needs to expect tight budgets and accountability. He has created a special committee to focus on state revenue and spending. Reeves told the crowd he expects revenues to continue to be sluggish until fiscal year 2014 or 2015. Governor- elect Phil Bryant's inauguration is on tap for next Tuesday at noon. WLBT will provide live coverage of the ceremony.

Copyright 2012 WLBT. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly