Runoff candidates plan next move - - Jackson, MS


Runoff candidates plan next move

By Monica Hernandez - bio | email

JACKSON, MS (WLBT) - After celebrating a landslide victory in the run-off election for mayor, Harvey Johnson is one step closer to serving a third term as leader of the capital city.

He won 63% of the vote over Ward 6 councilman Marshand Crisler.

And he'll continue campaigning for the general election June 2nd.

"Obviously we want to make sure people recognize the fact that they have to come back out June 2nd. It's two elections, it'll be three elections in about a month. Three elections. That's a lot for some voters," said Johnson.

If elected, Johnson said he'll incorporate the lessons he learned from his past terms as mayor.

"We want to make sure that not only are we communicating effectively the progress of the city and the vision I have for the city and the citizens have, but we're also going to ask for and receive input from the citizens of Jackson," said Johnson.

Johnson will run against Republican candidate George Lambus. He also faces independent candidates Robert Amos and David Archie, as well as Charlotte Reeves, and Rick Whitlow.

Meanwhile, Crisler is considering his next move. He opted to vacate his council seat to run for mayor. Crisler says he'll continue serving the public in some capacity but is still working out the details of his next move.

"We're going to go and reassess where we are right now, and evaluate the situation, and we'll be making a decision I'm sure in the very near future," said Crsiler.

The councilman remains a deputy sheriff with the Hinds County Sheriff's Department, where he is the crime prevention coordinator.

As for the city council run-off, Chokwe Lumumba will fill the open seat in Ward 2.

Incumbents Frank Bluntson and Charles Tillman will remain the councilmen in Wards 4 and 5.

Tony Yarber won the Democratic run-off in Ward 6. He''ll run against independent Samuel Kazery June 2nd.

And Margaret Barrett-Simon in Ward 7 faces one Republican and one independent candidate in the general election.

Powered by Frankly